Poem A Day: Dear You

Dear you,

thank you for wishing that I’ll have a happy ending

When all I wish is that tomorrow be as good as today

For letting me tell my story

When I thought I had nothing left to say

For assuring me that I’ll find the right man someday

When I’m not even sure if I’ll find the right pair of shoes

For being strong on my behalf

Through all the times I felt I had only everything to lose

For assuring me that I’ll get better soon

Eventhough it still resonates, this hurt within

For letting me cry my eyes out

After all the time I had to hold it in

For reminding me that it’s all right to let go

I didn’t know I was gripping on so tight

For being a familiar, comfortable presence

Thank you, dear you, for knowing in your heart I’ll be all right.

Poem A Day Challenge Day 1

Leave a comment