Clair de Lune

This post is part of the A to Z Challenge. Each post will be associated with a letter of the alphabet with the theme ‘Soundtracks from my life’.

***

Clair de Lune by Claude Debussy

As a lapsed pianist, I’ve heard of this piece of music before but it was only when it was featured in the movie Twilight that I paid attention to it.

When I hear this song, I remember my trip to Houston in 2008, the year the Twilight movie was released, when I stayed with my sister and her family for a whole six weeks as a sort of sabbatical from work. I immersed myself in my sister’s life and did what she and her family did day-to-day – helped send the kids to school, picked them up, clipped coupons, stroll through the supermarket (Kroegers!), drove on the other side of the street (and on the other side of the car) – it was actually one of the most relaxing getaways I’ve ever had, strangely enough.

I also went to the movies and of course, I watched Twilight (Confession: I’m a huge Twihard. But only of the first book and the first movie. The sequels were, quite frankly, sort of crap) I remember it was a noon showing on a weekday and there were less than 10 people in the cinema, all women. Yes, we were there for the same reason obviously – to ogle Robert Pattinson in all his bouffant glory. When Clair de Lune came on, it was the scene where Bella was fiddling with his sound system and this played, she looks at him and asks “Claire de Lune?” He quirks his lips and shrugs. Cue simultaneous sighing in the cinema.

3 thoughts on “Clair de Lune

Leave a comment