(B)urps and (B)elches

This post is part of the A to Z Challenge. Each post will be associated with a letter of the alphabet with the theme ‘Today, at work…’.

**********

Today, at work, I was bombarded with burps and belches. From my colleague whose cubicle is across from mine.

And there was no “Excuse me” or “Ooops” afterwards.

We’ve all let out an accidental burp or belch  once in a while. It happens. When it happens to me and I’m surrounded by people, I’m quick to blurt out an “excuse me” or an “oops”.

So, when my colleague let out the first burp without covering it up with an “excuse me”, I let it go. It’s just one burp, I thought to myself and continued typing. Then there was a second, third, fourth and oh, I lost count of them after that. And after each one, still no “excuse me” or “oops” or “oh dear, I have no idea why I’m burping so much!”

You know how there’s different types of burps? There’s the soft, timid burp and there’s the loud burp after you’ve eaten too much and the build-up of air is rushing to escape from your body. Well, her (yes, HER) burps were the gurggly kind so it was more of a blurp then a burp. I was discomfited and slightly disgusted. When will this end?

I typed furiously on my keyboard *CLACK CLICKETY-CLACK CLACK* to drown out the blurps. After several minutes, I slowed my typing down to find out if her blurpings had stopped and lucky me, I was rewarded with one last blurp. Ugh. I took a deep breath and repeated to myself “don’t let her blurps get to you, don’t let her blurps get to you…”

Then she got up from her seat and walked past my cubicle and left the office as if nothing had happened.

BLURP.

314f7fe0c517900f100613110789c5ad

What’re your thoughts on burping and belching in the office?