Gas men

This post is part of the A to Z Challenge. Each post will be associated with a letter of the alphabet with the theme ‘Malaysiana

**********

Gas is frequently used for cooking in most homes in Malaysia. Though an increasing number of households use electricity too. Gas is supplied to homes or restaurants in two ways – they’re delivered in canisters or via gas mains. Homes in rural areas can only get gas for cooking in canisters.

DSC_0951

We call these guys gas men though that’s not their official job title. They’ll pick up empty canisters from restaurants and replace with full canisters. Sometimes, gas canisters are delivered via motorcycle. Yep, it’s a sight to see these gas men on their motorcycles weaving in and out of traffic with all those gas canisters!

15332185461_92c53ab463_b

Ever cooked using gas supplied in canisters?

16 thoughts on “Gas men

  1. Wow! Thanks for sharing this interesting slice of Malaysian life. No, I’ve never cooked with gas canisters. With my luck, I’d blow up my kitchen. I hope you are enjoying the A to Z Blog Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. People who hadn’t cooked with gas canisters surprises me. In Spain, it was almost the only way until, let’s say, 20 or 25 years ago. In Morocco is still very popular, and you can find them in every corner, delivered on foot (using a little charriot), by bike, motocycle, truck, and even donkey!

    —–
    EvaMail Adventures
    G is for Giant

    Like

    • It is quite eye-opening to see the gas men with the gas canisters on their bike. If i’m in my car beside them, I always hope and pray that everything’s going to be okay…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I am going to go back and read all your blogs. My daughter lived in Malaysia for a year and I have visited her family there on a couple of occassions. I am glad I never encountered the guys with the gas bottes on the motor bikes. Sounds a bit worrying

    As for gas – my family had a gas stove when I was growing up (from 7 to 18) When I went off to college and shared a flat with my sister we also had gas. So it is something I am very used to. I haven’t had a gas stove since I finished college but my husband and I have camped often all our married life and we had a gas stove then. Now we have a caravan and it has a gas stove and a gas fridge. We also have a gas bbq at home. So I got the gas covered.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think usage of gas canisters with outdoor grills are more common instead of using it in the kitchen itself. Don’t you use your outdoor grill in the summer?

      Like

Leave a Reply

