Project #40thingsat40

This year I turn 40 years young! Yes, 40. Forty. Empat puluh*.

Mostly, I’m okay fine coming to grips with it but there’s a not-so tiny part of me that’s still in denial.

The tendency, when you hit one of those landmark ages i.e. 18, 21, 25, 30, 35, is either to celebrate it in a big way or pretend you’re not celebrating a landmark age. I’ve done both.

For many years, I was 29. The year I turned 30, I convinced myself that I was turning 29 Part 2, and the next year was 29 Part 3, the next 29 Part 4, etc…By the time I turned 35 29 Part 7 35, I’d come to my senses and said “Fudge it! I refuse to be ashamed of my age any more!” and since then, I’ve tried to do something memorable every time my birthday rolls around – drove cross-country alone, traveled to Siem Reap.

So it’s June 2016, and feeling a little glum that in 6 months I’ll be turning 40, I thought perhaps I’ll just pretend again that I’m not hitting another landmark age and instead tell people that I’m turning 39 part 2. A voice inside me shouted “No! Don’t be so pessimistic! Embrace this age!” I told that voice to shut up.

Seriously though, that voice kept coming back and that’s when Project #40thingsat40 came to life. I somehow convinced myself that instead of being depressed at turning 40, why not commemorate this year by learning, experiencing, doing 40 new things and then tell the world (realistically, those handful who read this blog) about them!

Thus, the journey begins.

40thingsat40

*Malay for forty

19 thoughts on “Project #40thingsat40

Leave a Reply

