#BEDM Day 9 (Europe): I Heart Pickled Herrings

Update: After more sleuthing in the world wide web, I came across this blog – Found Love Now What – that has her suggested daily topics for #BEDM from 2015, which I find quite appealing and may possibly borrow for the purpose of this challenge πŸ™‚

**********

Following a month of blogging (nearly) every day in April for the Blogging from A to Z Challenge, I wanted to continue the momentum and decided to do the Blog Every Day in May Challenge. I’d attempted this challenge in 2013Β but didn’t complete, probably due to blogging fatigue πŸ™‚ This year is my second attempt and I’m starting at Day 9 although if I’m really determined, I may go back and post for the days I missed, which means that for the most part, I’ll follow the proposed topics for each of the days in the challenge. Β 

**********

In October 2015, I visited Amsterdam for the first time and out of so many things that I was looking forward to for my trip, one of the top things (the #1 thing on my list was seeing windmills) was trying pickled herring.

Immediately after landing at Schiphol airport, my hunt began.

I searched for the kiosks that sold pickled herring which were supposed to be scattered amongst the canal area only to find one which had yet to open for the day. Refusing to be denied my pickled herring, I resorted to buying pickled herring from Albert Heijn, the supermarket chain ubiquitous in Amsterdam and devoured the entire tray of perhaps 10 herrings with a side of raw onions. My first impression? Oh God, I could eat this for breakfast, lunch and dinner everyday! Who cared about fishy-onion breath!

Then, while at the famous Albert Cuyp Market, I found this place – Volendammer Vishandel:

albert-cuyp-market-herring-stall
Photo credit: http://www.myhiddengems.co.uk

where I ordered and devoured this – pickled herring AND fried oysters. I could’ve ordered 10 more of these but I had the whole market to eat through πŸ™‚

Smoked herring

Pickled herring, I heart you.

20 thoughts on “#BEDM Day 9 (Europe): I Heart Pickled Herrings

  1. I admire your stamina! I participated in the A to Z challenge but I am not sure I would be up for a month of blogging in May right after. I haven’t had the chance to try pickled herring, although it sounds amazing! Fried oysters are quite delicious.

    Like

  2. Pickled herring, huh? Hmm, never tried it. I might be inclined to do so should I ever visit Amsterdam — a place I certainly dream of going!
    You are very ambitious, doing yet another month-long blogging challenge. I know there’s no way I could do it. Way to go A J! Have fun with it…

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Like

    • I did take a week’s break, more or less, and I like the idea that I’ll be blogging based on pre-determined topics. It gives me a sense of purpose in my writing πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Count me in as a fan of both pickled herring and fried oysters. I have the most difficult time finding fried oysters here in Los Angeles. Sometimes I crave them and have to go without. Now you go and remind me again. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay! A fellow pickled herring fan! πŸ˜€ At first, I thought I’d be put off by how slimy the fish was but with onions…yum! I can’t find them here so I opt for canned smoked herring instead. Still yum!

      Like

  4. I found your blog via the A-Z blog challenge. I love, love, love pickled herring, and my husband refuses to kiss me after I eat it. Oh well, I’ll kiss him before I eat it. The best I’ve ever found was in the open-air market in Brugges, Belgium. I salute you, fellow lover of pickled fish!
    @RhondaGilmour from
    Late Blooming Rose

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha “Fellow lover of pickled fish”, well that’s a first! LOL Thank goodness (or not) I don’t have to worry about kissing anyone after I eat pickled herring so I can eat as much as I can. When I can find it, of course. Thanks for dropping by! πŸ˜€ I’m hopping over to your blog

      Like

  5. LOL I think the only thing I would hunt like that is chocolate. I’ve never had pickled herring and since I’m a vegetarian now I’m thinking that’s one I’ll miss out on in life. Glad you found it though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The only reason I hunted pickled herring the way I did was because it’s the national food of the Netherlands! LOL To go there and not try it at least seems like a waste of money haha Glad it turned out yummy πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

