That time I (V)omited at sea

This post is part of the A to Z Challenge. Each post will be associated with a letter of the alphabet with the theme ‘Today, at work…’.

**********

Today, at work, I vomited.

We were transferring from one platform to another by boat. Being a novice, when the captain suggested we stay in the air-conditioned cabin because the weather was quite rough, I thought it was the best idea ever. Not.

We (The Boss and I) found ourselves in an air-conditioned cabin with bunk beds. She immediately went to the bottom bunk and I pulled myself up to the top bunk. Not easy to do when the boat was swaying not-so-slightly. I was fine for the first, oh, 10 minutes. Then I started to sweat. Even though it was freezing. I shifted my position on the bed and tried to nap. The trip was 1.5 hours, I still had a long way to go.

Then The Boss suggested I use acupressure to relieve the feeling of nausea. She showed me where to apply pressure on my left wrist using my right hand. I pressed until I was sure it’d be blue black later, still I felt my lunch crawling up my esophagus.

I hummed to myself to distract myself. My humming became louder and louder, the nausea grew unbearable.

I jumped down from the upper bunk and made a beeline to the toilet and said goodbye to my lunch. The sounds of my own heaving echoed in the toilet. By the time I was done, I was spent and laid my head on the cool porcelain. Mmmm…Then I heaved again, again, and again.

Finally, when I was pretty sure there was nothing else I could vomit, I flushed the toilet and got ready to exit the stall when I heard the toilet door slam open and in came running the client, a big guy who was also a novice himself on offshore trips. He ran into the stall next to mine and I heard him say goodbye to HIS lunch. The only thought that ran through my head then: I thought this was the ladies.

For the rest of the trip, I sat at the main deck of the tugboat. I got soaked from the sea water splashing onto the main deck but then, anything was better than feeling my meal leave my body through my mouth. Ick. And Ugh.

'Seasick already? Why, we haven't untied from the dock yet.' Are you prone to seasickness?

12 thoughts on “That time I (V)omited at sea

  1. My father used to tell about his WW2 experience when he was in the Navy and he went out to sea once. They went to Italy, but he says he never saw anything there because he was sick the entire trip. Fortunately for him they had recruited him to play basketball so that one obligatory trip was all he had to do. He spent the rest of his Navy time stateside.

    I’m not thrilled about being on the water. Guess I take after my father.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    • I love being on the water but after that, I know that I need to be exposed to fresh air not in an air-conditioned cabin below decks no matter how comfy it is

      Like

  2. This happened to me during a deep-sea fishing trip. You’re absolutely right, once the sweat starts to form on your brow, it’s really all over and there’s nothing you can do. I hope your lunch was a good one, as you ended up having it twice!

    Like

    • Being seasick is the absolute worst. I take anti-seasickness pills these days if I’m going to use a boat to travel anywhere, just in case…

      Like

Leave a Reply

