To (P)ee or Not to (P)ee

This post is part of the A to Z Challenge. Each post will be associated with a letter of the alphabet with the theme ‘Today, at work…’.

**********

Today, at work, The Boss told me I couldn’t take a toilet break.

We’d organised a seminar for which I was the emcee. My responsibilities included welcoming the attendees, announcing the house rules, introducing the speakers and at the end, thanking everyone for their participation. It was a no-brainer, anyone could do it.

We were nearing the end of the seminar and I anticipated that the speaker had about 10 more slides which meant anyway between 15 – 30 minutes left. I told The Boss “I’m just going to run to the washroom.” I turned to leave when I heard her exclaim “No! You can’t go! You have to stay till the end!”

What the heck! “Yes, I am. I’m just going to pop into the washroom, it’s just around the corner and I’ll be quick.”

“No, you can’t go, you’re the emcee!” She glared at me and I glared back.

I went and when I got back, no one died.

c426224f6a9140710fc936d5c13643ba

What weird/ strange instructions have you ever received from a superior at work?

20 thoughts on “To (P)ee or Not to (P)ee

  1. Never received an order like not peeing, but there have been times when I felt like I was going to pee in my pants because I couldn’t get away conveniently. It’s a terrible feeling.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  2. Thankfully I’ve not worked in any really bad places for this, but I’ve heard horror stories about call centres and some factories, but when you gotta go you gotta go!

    Some of my colleagues travel by car with our main boss, who is renowned for not stopping for lunch/loo breaks on long journeys but thankfully I’ve only ever travelled an hour or two with him, but would insist!

    Mars xx
    @TrollbeadBlog from
    Curling Stones for Lego People

    Like

    • Yep, it was definitely a case of abusing her power. No basis whatsoever and it’s not as if what I was missing was a life or death situation. Perspective, people! 🙂

      Like

  3. Yikes! In my first year teaching I was told under no circumstances should I let a student (who was known to have bladder problems and accidents) leave the room to use the bathroom during a standardized test. It would reflect bad on me and the school, apparently. wtf? Nature called and I let him go of course and got ripped a new one.

    Like

  4. I’ve never been refused a bathroom break (I think it’s actually illegal to refuse someone one) but there have been times when it’s just so busy I have had to wait a while before being able to nip out and it’s not a good feeling!
    Debbie

    Like

Leave a Reply

