the (L)unch Dilemma

This post is part of the A to Z Challenge. Each post will be associated with a letter of the alphabet with the theme ‘Today, at work…’.

**********

Today, at work, my colleagues and I were faced with one of the most difficult decisions of our daily work life – where to go for lunch.

It’s 10.30 am and Colleague asks “So, where to go for lunch today, huh?”

The rest of us sigh.

The office is situated in a business district with umpteen eateries. There’s Chinese coffee shops, restaurants featuring all sorts of cuisines and it’s a five-minute drive (or less, depending on how hungry you are) from a multitude of malls. we were surrounded by food choices, nearly drowning in it, yet when faced with that ever-important question of where and what to eat, we’re stumped.

This is how we attempted to decide where and what to eat:

“Ok, so, what to eat, huh?”

“Oh, anything.”

“Anywhere. I’m not fussy.”

“Yeah, whatever. You decide.”

The conversation would go back and forth for too many stomach-growling minutes as no one would want to give in and make a decision.

In the end, most days, I’ll start walking towards the nearest eatery and see who follows (or not). Then once we’re seated, relieved that the decision of where to eat had been solved. We’d have to start the decision-making process again and decide WHAT to eat.

Lunch, you make my life happy and sad.

7b4a952d7e68a761b6a9b6828d322c8f

What’s your lunch routine at work?

 

 

24 thoughts on “the (L)unch Dilemma

  1. My lunch routine usually consists of my office mate throwing Cheetos at me and the occasional stealing of my food.

    I of course work at home 95% of the time now though.

    Back in my days on the cube farm lunch was a grand adventure. Many times we’d get separated on our trips to Mordor.

    We’d always end back up in the Shire though, eventually.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I actually suggested putting types of cuisines on a board then throw a dart at it LOL Of course, this idea was said in the heat of the moment when we still couldn’t decide so it was never taken seriously…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha sounds all too familiar. That’s why when we meet we order the same thing at the same restaurant. Perhaps next week we could get a different drink? 😳

    Like

  3. LOL. Lunch is usually easy enough for me – I like to eat alone. But dinner… try being the only vegetarian in a group of hungry lions 😉 Good luck with the rest of the AtoZchallenge.

    Like

    • Haha Ordering food online is only slowly becoming more popular here so I suppose in a few months/ years “where do we order from online” will be the dilemma ;P

      Like

    • Your office cafeteria serves free lunch??? The food at my office cafeteria is subsidised by the company but no where near free…and it isn’t great

      Like

  4. Where I work, we usually work alone so going out for lunch isn’t really an option – it’s bring something with you, or don’t eat. I used to find this annoying but after reading this, I think maybe it’s a good thing 🙂
    Debbie

    Like

Leave a Reply

