The (D)readful (D)ocumentation (D)rama

This post is part of the A to Z Challenge. Each post will be associated with a letter of the alphabet with the theme ‘Today, at work…’.

**********

Yesterday, at work, I submitted a document to The Boss AKA She-Who-Shall-Not-Be-Named AKA Most-Likely-Voldermort’s-Second-Cousin, for her review. The document would be presented to the client today.

After work, I waited by my phone in case The Boss had questions or wanted me to revise the document. It was almost midnight, and there were no calls (missed or otherwise) and no text messages. So, it seemed that for once, I produced a documentation that passed her nit-picky, OCD standards. Yay me! Or so I thought.

Today, I was on my way to work when I realised I’d forgotten my phone. So, I made a quick u-turn to head home to retrieve it but of course, I then got stuck in traffic and what was supposed to be a 5 minute trip back turned into 15 minutes. I hadn’t even reached the office and I was already feeling stressed out.

The second I got home, the first thing I did was locate my phone and check it. That’s when I saw three missed calls from The Boss. I immediately called her back and she was angry. A.N.G.R.Y. “Why didn’t you answer your phone???!!!” She shrieked. I held my phone away from my ear.

That was the wrong way to start a conversation with someone who had been stuck in unnecessary traffic all because I’d forgot my phone at home, so I retorted with “Why are you only calling me now? I was on standby the entire night to make the changes so that the documentation doesn’t have to be edited at the last minute!”

She ignored what I said  and immediately asked me where was the graph she wanted in the document. I told her it was there and even checked the copy that I sent to her and saw that it was indeed included in the document.

Then she hangs up.  SHE HANGS UP!

Then she calls back and says that the graph is in the original attachment I sent her so she probably deleted the graph. And she hangs up again. Grrrr…

11631f4663083360fe1b02269fb257c4
Have you ever had a boss nit-pick your reports unnecessarily e.g. deleting a stray comma, changing a sentence structure to reflect their writing style even though the original sentence structure was sufficient?
23 thoughts on “The (D)readful (D)ocumentation (D)rama

    • Hi Mars – Blogging (or venting) about work is very cathartic haha It took me a while to leave that particular job because aside from the evil boss, I loved what I did.

      Like

  1. Hallo from Sweden !
    Frist, I want say, I looooove your theme. Work !!
    Maybe ai will steal it to next year..
    Smile..

    Second.. girl, I am sorry about your ” chef från helvetet !!”
    Well…Karma is a b…ch.!
    HOld on ! No, change your work, I want say.
    I will come back..

    Angelzuz

    Like

  2. Eeks! Now I understand why you believe her to be Most-Likely-Voldemorts-Second-Cousin and I think you must be right. OCD is one thing but that was just plain rude. People always make me wonder. On the upside, your posts make me laugh. 🙂

    Like

    • Plus, her comments were inconsistent. She’d want one thing in this report and in the next report, when I included what I thought she wanted, she’d change her mind and said that’s not what she wants. I don’t mind-read!

      Like

  3. Oh goodness, this was a great description of your day–and your boss! I haven’t had any bosses like that, but I teach English, so I’m sure my students have said similar things about me. I hope I’m not as heinous about my feedback, though! 🙂

    Like

  4. I had a boss who flat out accused me of taking too much vacation. She called me into her office and went on a tirade about how I should be more mindful of my days off and that if I were to be let go I’d owe the company money because I’d taken too many days.

    1. She approved all the days before hand.
    2. I was not over my accrued days, but under by a day.

    When I calmly pointed out both of these facts she continued on about how I needed to be careful and needed to take better records of how many days I’ve taken and earned.

    I countered by saying,

    I’ve clearly shown you that I am not over my days, because I do carefully track my days off. I know exactly how much I’ve taken and how much I’ve earned. What is really going here?

    You need to be careful not to go over your hours again.

    I still don’t know what was wrong with her, but my Corporate America career almost ended before it started.

    Like

Leave a Reply

