Escapade

This post is part of the A to Z Challenge. Each post will be associated with a letter of the alphabet with the theme ‘Soundtracks from my life’.

***

“Escapade” by Janet Jackson (1990)

If you knew me when I was younger, you’d think that I’d grow up to be a performer. This is because looking through old photos of young me, I was in a whole bunch of plays, musical performances and dance ensembles. Yes, I was really artsy-fartsy.

When I was 6 years old, I was Olive Oyl in a kindergarten play. At age 8, I was Alice (in Wonderland) for a Sunday school Easter musical. During primary school, I was introduced to and participated in traditional performances like dikir barat and Malaysian traditional dances.

One of the most memorable (and I have to admit, slightly embarrassing) performances I was ever involved in was when I was 13. I had just passed a grueling weeks long probation period and was now a newbie school prefect. Teacher’s Day was coming up and to celebrate, classes were cancelled to make way for a day of performances. All classes (and prefects) had to prepare a performance for everyone’s entertainment. Of course, being one of the few newbie prefects, I was forced to volunteer. Oh, joy.

Our performance was to dance to the music “Escapade”. Sadly, us newbies were not a rhythmic nation and our moves were clunky, at best.

I must’ve listened to “Escapade” probably 6 million times, if not more, during our practice sessions that I can recognise the opening notes in my sleep. And I swear, if I happen to listen to “Escapade” now, my body starts twitching in accordance with the choreography I learnt decades ago. Thank you, muscle memory.

That performance was before the time of Instagram and Facebook so thank goodness there are no videos out there going viral. Unfortunately though, there are one or two (maybe 10) photos of the bunch of us attempting to be like the dancers from Janet Jackson’s video. When I stumble upon these photos, I automatically cringe.

Then smile a little ;P

4 thoughts on “Escapade

  1. You should smile! It’s a great memory. Sort of like my 4th grade play where I fell flat on my face (how cliche!) right as I entered for my big song. 😛

    Like

  2. My daughters were much the same way. Everything was a show or an opportunity to show off. Those were fun times!

    Don’t cringe about those photos. Be happy you have them because they are your memories that have been captured for the future.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Wrote By Rote

    Like

  3. Kudos you you for your courage to perform in public. I spent those years deathly afraid of taking those chances.

    Hope you’ll visit my A to Z blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

