Zeroing on Zellweger

This post is part of the A to Z Challenge. Each post will be associated with a letter of the alphabet with the theme ‘Letters to my younger self’.

***

Dearest 25-year-old me,

In a few minutes, you’ll find yourself two persons behind Renee Zellweger at the immigration section of the Toronto Pearson International Airport; returning to Toronto after a hectic (and emotional) Christmas and New Year.

At first, you’ll think that perhaps your eyes have deceived you, that you’re in thrall to jetlag and surely, that is not Ms. Zellweger within touching distance of your tired self. But no, it is in fact Bridget Jones herself and she’s travelling all by her lonesome.

You’ll vacillate between wanting to get her autograph and giving her space and eventually, you’ll just end up making a micro-almost-negligible eye contact with the awesome actress.

Incidentally, you’ll have the Bridget Jones book in your carryall and could ask her to sign it and you must! You must! Do not be shy! Just ask her in a polite and quiet voice and she will sign the book, I’m sure! Don’t let the opportunity slip away!

Be brave, be brave and ask her to autograph it for you. If you don’t, you’ll always look at that book and wonder how amazing it’ll be with her signature inside it, so go forth and zero in on her and seize the day!

8 thoughts on “Zeroing on Zellweger

  1. I’m glad you didn’t. Perhaps if we allowed “stars” their personal space in their private lives, we’d be less apt to see so many celebrities self-destruct. It cannot be easy or healthy to have one’s every move be published as if that person is “special” 24/7. I think you showed constraint snd comportment by leaving her alone.

    Congratulations on completing the Challenge. Your theme and posts were creative, thought-provoking and entertaining. I look forward to your future gifts 🙂

    Like

  2. Ha, too funny. I don’t tend to value autographs so much. I always feel like it’s a nuisance to bother celebrities unless they are specifically at a function like a comic con or a book signing for authors, where it’s expected to meet and sign something.

    Like

  3. Well done for making it to the end of A to Z! And how cool that you saw Renee Zellweger! I saw Clive Owen in the airport security once, I was completely obvious that I had recognised him (I’m far too uncool to stay quiet like you) but I have to admit I wouldn’t have wanted to disturb him. I figure actors already give themselves so much to the public, they should at least get a private private life.

    That said, going forth and seizing the day is a really important lesson to learn (and one I’m still struggling with 😉 )

    Like

Leave a Reply

