Yearning for all Your Yesterdays

This post is part of the A to Z Challenge. Each post will be associated with a letter of the alphabet with the theme ‘Letters to my younger self’.

***

Dear 7-year-old me,

In a week, you’ll start Standard One. It’ll be an eye-opening experience for you and will very much be unlike your previous few years in kindergarten when you were more or less, the top dog; teacher’s pet.

There will be many things in store for you as you enter the world of primary school – your first sports day, your first live performance, your first radio interview where you’ll speak about being a girl scout, your first crush…

Sadly, most of these events will go unrecorded because you will only start to keep a journal at 11-nearly-12.

Dear young and less wrinkled me, start writing down your life immediately. And when you’re a little older, maybe 10, ask for a camera as a birthday present so you can start to capture the moments as they happen.

As you get older, you’ll try to remember these early years but without words or pictures, the years will seem a blur. Write them down. Take a picture of the life-changing events and you won’t have to strain to try to remember when you were happiest.

5 thoughts on “Yearning for all Your Yesterdays

  1. Oh how I wish I had photos of my early years! And how I wish I had the few little things I wrote back in school! It is so hard to remember details, and so many events have been lost from my memory. 😦
    Great post, as usual.

    Like

  2. Great advice, I wish I had kept a journal when I was younger. It would be so amazing to have that to look back on.
    The taking of photos is tricky, I love taking photos, but sometimes I find that in my attempts to capture something on film I don’t appreciate the event itself as much as I should.

    Like

Leave a Reply

