Bad at Bowling

This post is part of the A to Z Challenge. Each post will be associated with a letter of the alphabet with the theme ‘Letters to my younger self’.

***

Dear nearly-19-year-old me,

Brace yourself, I’m going to reveal a teensy piece of information that you’ll not be aware of until you join the rest of your classmates for a day of bowling the day after tomorrow.

Ready? Here it is.

You. Will. Suck. At. Bowling.

Really, really suck. You’ll suck so bad that even now (many, many, MANY years later), I am still cringing (and okay, maybe, giggling a little).

Subconsciously, you’ll realise that perhaps bowling will not be your thing because when Kelvin asks “Want to give it a try?” and holds out a fluorescent yellow bowling ball, you’ll reply “I’d rather bungee jump than bowl.” Yep, that’s what you’ll say. At nearly-19, you’ll have yet to embrace your inner witty self.

After your uninspired response, you’ll sit back, pretending disinterest and watch everyone else bowl and have a good time. Eventually though, their enjoyment will infect you and you’ll reluctantly pick up a ball and stand at the head of the lane. 

You’ll hear shouts of encouragement from your friends and you’ll gain a little bit more confidence. You can do this, you’ll tell yourself. You’ll take a step forward, swing your right arm back with all your might and unfortunately, feel the ball leave your grip.

Behind you. Towards your friends.

They’ll shriek and scramble to get out of the way. Your jaw will drop and the entire bowling alley will fall into silence.

Then, you’ll hear raucous laughter.

Your cheeks will burn and you’ll not touch a bowling ball for the next couple of years.

So, since you’re receiving this warning ahead of time, you’ll have tomorrow to practice a little so that you won’t suck as much as you will 🙂

42 thoughts on “Bad at Bowling

    • Hi Stefani – I agree. I’d like to reduce the number of times I’ve embarassed myself when I was younger, if I can LOL I’m hopping over to your blog after this to check it out! 🙂

      Like

  1. Awww you don’t suck; you’re just bowling-challenged! My friend and I, one day while bowling ‘cuz too windy to golf, decided if we swapped our high golf scores with our low bowling scores, we’d come out ahead with both games!!

    Like

    • Thanks Sammy! Yes, am severely bowling-challenged. Although I did improve slightly post-this episode. I once managed to hit one pin without touching all the others. That’s progress!!! LOL

      Like

  2. I found this blog by randomly selecting a number on A To Z, and boy am I glad I did. I read this one and liked it a lot — engaging, funny, and also I am bad at bowling. So I went and read your A entry from yesterday and HOLY COW that was way better even than this already-good post.

    I am going to bookmark your blog to set up and check out as often as I can. You’re great.

    Like

    • Hi Briane, thanks for visiting! I’ve done the randomly picking a number from the A to Z list and found wonderful blogs to read to 🙂 so glad that you stumbled on mine. See you around and happy A to Zing!

      Like

    • Hello! Thanks for stopping by and for the follow 🙂 First attempt at writing in the style of letters and am finding it freeing 🙂 Enjoy A to Z!

      Like

  3. Oh, that was a wonderful letter! Wouldn’t it be great if we could really do that? So funny, though. Too funny. I’m sorry! I was almost breaking out into raucous laughter as I fell into the scene!
    Donna Smith
    The A-to-Z Challenge
    Mainely Write

    Like

    • Thank you Donna! If we could write letters to our younger selves perhaps it should only be limited to 5 letters because some things need to be experienced and felt 🙂

      Like

  4. I must say, this is the most brilliant and creative theme for a writing challenge I’ve seen thus far. Keep up the great work!

    Like

    • Hey Damyanti! I don’t quite get the point of bowling but it sure is fun if you manage to get the bowl to roll in a straight line directly towards the pins! LOL

      Like

  5. My dept organised a bowling event with all the staff and students last year. We booked the whole bowling alley and everyone was divided up into teams. I was placed with a team of students I didn’t know, because they were from other classes. I was the WORST bowler on the team, it was so embarrassing! The students were very sweet though. “It’s okay, teacher! Just enjoy! Relax!” They started giving me bowling tips, too. Talk about role reversal!

    Like

    • Hehehe Irene. I can just imagine. At least they were encouraging you! They could’ve heckled. But I think if they did, their grades would be in peril LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

