The poems in me

The first ever thing I wrote were poems. I wrote poems before I ever wrote anything else. Rhymes came to me, whether I was climbing trees or chasing boys who’d pull my hair in the kindergarten yard.

So, when I saw that Cha had a poetry writing contest, I jumped in. Tentatively.

I had a whole month’s worth of poems from last year so picked two that fit the theme `Void’.

I interpreted this theme as emptiness of the heart, wanting to disappear and be invisible.

I submitted two of the poems I wrote for the Poem-A-Day Challenge, raw and unrevised – Ways to unlove and Hide Me.

It feels great to just put something out there whether they are received with open arms or not because the most important thing –¬†my words are out there.

Leave a Reply

