In the Colin R Onstad Room (F2K): Lesson 4 Conflict

During the last F2K session, this lesson was the one that really shone for me. I learned to be more aware of introducing the element of conflict in my writing when I realised through this session that with conflict, the characters became more three-dimensional.

This time however, I struggle with writing a scene with a minor conflict in it. For me, conflict has always tended to be romantically-based – those are the types of conflicts I’m most familiar with. This session though, I didn’t want it to be a romantic-driven conflict and that stumped me. In the end though, I decided to use this lesson to explore Jessana as an elder sister and I think I could’ve done better but I’m sort of happy with what I’ve got.

***

Jess grinned as she watched her younger sister Cassandra race down the stairs in her customary the-world-is-too-slow-for-her-magnificence flair. Her untied midnight hair streamed behind her like a superhero’s cape and her ear glued to her mobile while she spoke into it at a million miles a minute. Jess shook her head at the sight of her sister who was likely going to be late for school that day as the aroma of coffee and burnt waffles filled the kitchen.

Jess began to turn away from her younger sister’s exuberance but her gaze caught a familiar accessory which dangled from Cassandra’s right wrist – a leather bracelet with three blue and white porcelain circlets in a row; a gift from Grandpa. To Jessana.

When Cass reached the kitchen, Jess asked in the most neutral tone that she had in her “Is that my bracelet, Cass?”

“Yep.” Cass tossed the reply towards Jess and walked to the island in the kitchen and filled a mug with coffee flavoured with chicory.

Jess winced at the reply. “I don’t mind that you borrow my things but I’d appreciate if you just ask me beforehand.”

“Well, I’m wearing it now. Take it that I’ve asked you, ‘kay? Besides, it was the only accessory that matched my outfit today. What do you think?” Cass twirled showing off her trim figure draped in a light blue sundress that showcased her tan.

“Cass…” Jess continued, “Can you just give me the bracelet?”

“Seriously! Why are you harping on this?! It’s just a darn bracelet!”

“Grandpa gave it to me, it’s kind of important…” Jess reached out towards Cass. The bracelet had been given to her by their grandfather’s estate. There were rules that came with it. Many rules. Among which were that only the eldest of the eldest could possess it; wear it. And Cass was not an eldest of an eldest.

“Well, I’m sick and tired of you getting the best stuff from the tribe! You want your bracelet – here!” Cass wrenched the bracelet from her wrist and flung it towards Jess. Jess felt the cool porcelain of the bracelet meet her right cheek, felt the welt that it would become and watched the bracelet slide down and laid prone on the kitchen tile; innocent.

(WC 377)

Leave a Reply

