F2K-ing again plus other writing updates

F2K

I’m beyond excited that another F2K session has resumed.

This time I’m in the Colin R. Onstad room. I know, Colin, ironic. Hardy har har.

I looked the writer up and found out that he used to be one of the F2K classroom mentors who passed away in 1999 (if I’m not mistaken).

I’m itching for the first assignment already!

MINIfiction.my

I’m also tweeting 140-character stories as part of MINIfiction.my. So far, I’ve submitted 19 tweets. My reasons are selfish ones, I want to win the iPAD that will be given out to weekly winners! My strategy is deluge the site with quantity (and quality) minifiction.

Reading the Short Story/ Dragon-themed anthology

I’m in Week 5 of Sharon’s class Reading the Short Story which will end with workshopping our own short stories. The last bit is optional though but of course, I’m going to take advantage of it. I was thinking of workshopping the dragon story I have yet to write for Linda Field’s anthology which has a September 1st deadline (EEK!) aka two more months (EEK! EEK!)

Calistro Prize

And there’s this – a contest for children or YA fiction of at least 6000 words. I was thinking my manang story which I’ll develop throughout the F2K session. Deadline for this is September 30th (EEK! EEK! EEK!)

…more writing for the star and other publications (paid, preferably)

Now that I have the time, I’m trying to get into the groove of writing and getting published in local newspapers, magazines and anthologies. I’ve unfortunately missed out on the deadlines of some locally published anthologies which is quite disappointing but I’m still going to go forth and write, write, write. And submit, submit, submit!

Blog everyday in May

Sadly, it ended for me on May18th 😦 Maybe next year.

Leave a Reply

