The thing I’m most afraid of: snakes

This post is part of the Blog Everyday in May challenge which I’m starting a wee bit late.

Day 7:  The thing(s) you’re most afraid of.

***

I’m deathly afraid of snakes.

But not to the point of ophidiophobia. I think.

There was a point in my life when even these scaly creatures invaded my dreams on an almost-daily basis. Every night, I’d dream of snakes – big snakes, small snakes, one snake, many snakes, pythons, anacondas, you name it…

It got so bad that when I DIDN’T dream of snakes, it’d be a big deal. A red-letter day.

My parents shared with me years ago that when I was probably 5 or 6 years old that they found me on the verandah and there was a snake beside me. It wasn’t poised to attack but it was just there. And I was just there. We were next to one another. They think that this could’ve been the catalyst for my fear of snakes.

I don’t even want to analyse this because just writing these few words about it…I’m already getting goosebumps.

3 thoughts on “The thing I’m most afraid of: snakes

  1. I’m terrified of snakes too! In zoos, I’d avoid visiting the snakes and creepy crawlies! However, less afraid of snakes than worms meaning may pass out at the sight of a worm! *faint*

    Like

    • I’ll go to the reptile house in zoos but will not put my face near the glass to locate the snake for fear it’ll be face-to-face with me…

      Like

Leave a Reply

