The story of my life in 250 words or less

This post is part of the Blog Everyday in May challenge which I’m starting a wee bit late but hope to catch up eventually. Day 1’s assignment is to write the story of my life in 250 words or less

***

Me, looking quite tomboy-ish with a parrot on my shoulder. Circa 1980s.
Me, looking quite tomboy-ish, with a parrot on my shoulder. Ooo…my handbag was cute though! Circa 1980s.

Hi, I’m Amelia and I’m at that age when women are reluctant to tell their real age. When I was younger, I didn’t think I’d be one of those women but turns out that I am.

I was born in Sarawak, Malaysia and after a year, the entire family moved to the capital city of Kuala Lumpur. I grew up in a fairly strict household and have 3 siblings – two sisters and a younger brother.
I was a fairly good (I think) student in primary and secondary school. I did track and netball. I dove into extra-curricular activities with gusto. Transitioning to college when I had to stay in a hostel was a little bit rough as it was my first time away from home and staying in a room with total strangers. I delayed joining the workforce by getting my masters degree but once I finally had that, it was time to start earning money.
I’ve a few close friends and we’ve tried hard to keep in touch throughout the years. Without them, I’d be a hermit.
Still single and looking. But not too hard.
The most important thing to happen to me recently was when I decided to quit my job and try to earn a living as a writer. Not sure how that will work out but one thing’s for sure, I’ll have lots of stories to tell.
Me, in a nutshell.
One thought on “The story of my life in 250 words or less

Leave a Reply

