NaNoWriMo Day 5: WC 8380

OHI0155 WriterHealthTipArmsI didn’t expect to do too great today with the word count eventhough I snuck in a couple paragraphs at work because I was semi-comfortable with the rate at which I’ve been churning out the words in the first 4 days.

I keep reminding myself that the only person I’m competing with is me. And that everyday I write is a win.

But seeing everyone zoom past the 10K mark after only 4 days is a little daunting. Actually, that’s a lie, it’s EXTREMELY DAUNTING.

I look back at what I wrote and I CRINGE. I CRINGE!

The urge to go back and edit is so strong that I have to go all BDSM on me.

Luckily, I’ve managed to resist and placate my inner-critic/ editor by saying that this weekend, I’ll devote a couple of hours to do some edits before I continue to spew words onto the page.

My inner-critic/ editor jumps up and down with joy, just like a yo-yo.

The story so far: Blind dates 3 and 4 have been semi-described and also a very aggravating and frank conversation between Jools and her mother about `hooking up’.  

Leave a Reply

