nanowrimo is upon me

Nanowrimo is in 30 days. 30 DAYS!

This will be my 3rd attempt at trying to write 50, 000 words in 30 days.

The first attempt, I only got as far as writing a title and an excerpt.

Last year, I did a little better, I wrote 5000 words. Whoopee!

But this year, I have to finish. I have to. I have no excuses. I’ve got a story idea, a story structure and most importantly, a goal. And that is – whatever comes out of nanowrimo will probably be my first self-published ebook.

My work is cut out for me for the next month – I have to really think about the characters, the situations I put them in and also their motivations. This, I believe, will help strengthen the structure I’ve got scribbled in my moleskine over margaritas a few weeks ago.

I’m excited. And damn scared. What was the word Leo Babuta coined?

Joyfear.

That’s EXACTLY what’s coursing through me now.

And according to Leo –

Having only joy is great. Having only fear sucks. But having both … that’s life-defining.

Do not shy away from Joyfear. Seek it out. Recognize it when you happen upon it. Joyfear will change your life, and you’ll never forget the moment you find it.

No worries, I’m saturated with Joyfear, it’s oozing out my pores.

Leave a Reply

