Poem A Day: Let’s Be Honest

Let’s be honest.
You need me,
More than I need you.
It was only me who couldn’t see.
It was me who stayed
when everyone said to flee.

Let’s get it straight.
Everything that’s happened?
All the ugly shit and stuff?
I take full responsibility.
You’ll never own up (coward),
So,
it might as well be me.

Let’s cut the chase.
We only tolerated each other,
You hate my timidity,
I hate your guts,
But we were useful
to one another, you see.
Me, for my heritage.
You, for your money.

Don’t you just love all this honesty?

Poem A Day Challenge Day 20

Leave a Reply

