Poem A Day: Hide me

You start screeching into your phone,

Hand gesticulating wildly,

I sit in front of you,

Whispering to myself ‘Hide me’

Maybe if I say it enough times

I’ll eventually disappear

I want to be invisible to you

I want you to not remember that I’m there

I hide in plain sight,

As you bang the table with your palm,

I hide inside blank stares,

I want to escape from this unharmed.

I hide behind a glazed-over gaze

Trying to avoid your escalating fury,

I wish I was transparent,

As you approach, I whisper again ‘Hide me’.

Poem A Day Challenge Day 6

2 thoughts on “Poem A Day: Hide me

  1. I liked this:
    Whispering to myself ‘Hide me’
    Maybe if I say it enough times
    I’ll eventually disappear

    You probably need to invest in an invisibility cloak

    Like

Leave a Reply

