Five Things I learned from the A to Z challenge

 

 

 


  1. Writing everyday (well, almost everyday) is not as difficult and daunting as I thought it’d be.  I remember on the 31st of March, going into the challenge, that I kept shaking my head asking myself ‘Why am I doing this?  Why am I doing this?’  Well, now I know why.  It’s just a matter of putting butt to seat and hands to keyboard and typing away.
  2. There are stories in me.  Another thing I was worried about was whether or not I could come up with anything for each of the alphabets.  I didn’t pre-plan anything being a super-procrastinator and I couldn’t see any stories beyond C!
  3. The stories I posted that were 90% based on my own pain were the ones that touched people most.  This was a surprise to me.  I snuck in some posts in my A to Z that were actual events that I had experienced (No, the Thumbtack Man was not one of those).  And those were the ones that had some of the most positive feedback.  Thanks all!
  4. I can write pretty gory stuff.  Another surprise.  And I scared myself with this.  Before this, I’ve never written anything remotely gory, there was no serial killer that emerged in my previous writing.  Then all of a sudden in April, my characters were hell-bent on vengeance.  Perhaps it takes this writing challenge to draw this side of me out and into the open.
  5. Collective writing is an encouraging endeavour!  Writing together with everyone in the challenge towards a goal was amazing!  This was the most fun I’ve had writing!  I’ve gotten to know so many other writers in the process and am following them via their blogs.  I can’t wait to have the opportunity to do this again and am already looking forward to next April!

Thank you everyone who dropped by my blog to share words of encouragement on the stories I wrote!  You don’t know how much the responses mean to me 🙂

A BIG shout-out and THANK YOU to Damyanti too for posting about this challenge on the Word Works Creative Writers Facebook page pre-challenge.  If not for that post, I wouldn’t have had the writing fun I had in April!

14 thoughts on “Five Things I learned from the A to Z challenge

  1. I enjoyed reading your stories, and this is such an amazing cheer for the A-Z team that as a first-timer, the challenge brought you good things. If you’d like to guest post for us at http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com regarding the challenge, or your fiction, or about blogging in general, drop us a line at 2012AZinfo at gmail dot com.

    —Damyanti, Co-host A to Z Challenge April 2012
    Amlokiblogs
    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge

    Like

  2. Hi Amelia, Yes enjoyed the collective writing and the cheering on from those in closer circles helped to keep it going. Here’s to our own little challenge…
    Apart from the realities borne of pain, your creative ideas stand out just as prominently. I loved T for Thumb tacks!!

    Like

  3. (No, the Thumbtack Man was not one of those).
    Phew…had me worried there! I can’t wait to continue following your blog. I see lots of good reads ahead! Glad to have crossed paths on the A-Z trail.

    Like

  4. I agree, doing things together really helps! I’m so happy you enjoyed the challenge, and knowing that I wasn’t the only one unprepared relaxes me a little. Thanks for your post!

    Like

    • Hi Barbara! Yes, the fact that there were close to 1000 ppl posting everyday really encouraged me to pick up the slack 🙂 as you can see, nothing motivates like peer pressure 🙂

      Like

    • Hello Jeremy! Thank you for the wonderfully designed `AtoZ Challenge Survivor’ Badge! As you can see, it’s proudly displayed here! 🙂 I didn’t manage to visit your blog during the challenge but will now trawl through all the ones I missed slowly…

      Like

  5. Congratulation on finishing the challenge. I didn’t visit all blogs during the challenge but, cross my heart, I’m visiting every single one with reflections post!

    Like

    • Thanks Evalina – It was indeed difficult to visit all the blogs during the challenge – I may have only covered 25%? Or less? Thanks for dropping by!

      Like

  6. The Challenge means a lot of writing but that’s a good thing if you’re a writer. It’s kind of like of going to writing school but not getting grades or credits. It’s the school of reality. I don’t even know what I’m talking about.
    Let’s just leave it at thanks for participating.

    Lee
    A Faraway View
    An A to Z Co-host blog

    Like

    • Hi Arlee! Would you believe that I totally got what you said? 🙂 Yes, a writer writes. And I can’t wait for next year…will try to be more of a planner instead of a procrastinator the next time around.

      Like

Leave a Reply

