creativewritingprompts.com monday: #188

Write from a point of view of a coffee maker that short-circuited.

Damn! Damn! Damn!

And OUCH!

5:25am.

Oh God, oh God.  How am I going to fix this?  Stupid darn power surge?  Why doesn’t TNB warn people when they’re going to cut up some power lines or something?  I’d have been disconnected for sure.

5:26am.

What do I do?  Errr…ok, ok – think! Think! Damn it!

Arabica ground coffee is already in the filter.  Check.  Water is filled up in the reservoir.  Check.  Glass jar is ready and waiting for filtered coffee.  Check.  Alarm to start operations.  OFF!  Darn Darn Darn!

5.27am.

Wake up, wake up!  I’ve been here for 3 years, I’m sure I have a bond with Jennie.  Wake up, wake up!

Ha ha! She woke up!  She’s coming over!

5.28am.

Stupid dream.   I heard her say.  Might as well get up.  Hey, what’s with the coffee maker?  Good, she remembers, she tried to switch on the wall.  Nope.  Short circuit.  Yes, yes – you’ve got this, try the other plug.  Yes, that’s it.  Disconnect the microwave, you don’t need it now.  And don’t forget….

5.29am.

Oh ya, must remember to switch on and off this button in the event of a short circuit.  Ahhh…there.  

Ahhh…

5.30am.

I felt the water warm up and bubble through the Arabica.  Oh God, the smell that was emitting, I can’t get enough of it.

Ahhhh…..

Leave a Reply

