creativewritingprompts.com monday: #118

This dialogue must appear somewhere in your story: “You know what else children don’t know?”

“You know what else children don’t know?” I asked.  “That when they’re older, they’ll miss having all this time that they can sleep.”

“Yeah,” he said, agreeing, “Just look at them – running around.  I’m beat.  But they’ve still got a full tank!”

He was beginning to sound indignant.  I understood.  I envy the kids – all their energy.  My eyelids were drooping as we spoke.

“So, which one of us should be the bad guy – break the news to them that when they’re older, they’ll miss all the sleep they aren’t getting now?”

He gave me a grin, “I think it’s your turn, dear.”

“Ugh.  Okay.  Emily!  Brodie! Get your butts over here!” I called to my kids.

“Later momma!”shouted Brodie back.  “Now, honey!”  I replied.

My grubby-looking kids trudged over reluctantly.  “Ya?”  I asked Emily.

“It’s nap time.  Just a short nap – 30 minutes, ok?  You’re growing and need your sleep.  Remember what I said?  You’ll miss all this opportunities to sleep when you’re grown up…”

“..cos we won’t have time to sleep!” they answered in unison.  I smiled.  I guess they’ve heard this speech before.

I tucked them in and as I left the playroom where I had set up their daybed, I heard them whispering So what do you want to play afterwards?

Leave a Reply

